Born of Shadows by Sherrilyn Kenyon (2011)

June 5, 2011 at 2:25 pm (negativity, science fiction, space opera)

I actually had my doubts about this book just from reading the jacket copy, but we’ve all read books whose jacket copy wasn’t a good fit with the actual contents.  Plus, I’ve seen this author’s name before, it was a library book, and I was in the mood to try something new.

And I’m glad I didn’t waste any of my own money on it.  I do enjoy a good space opera, but this isn’t one.

It features characters built out of quirks, stereotypes, and angst; a plot full of more coincidences than a Roadrunner cartoon; and worldbuilding containing even less logic or explanation than can be found in Star Wars.

And the actual writing is about as stylish and enjoyable as stereo instructions.  Or telegrams.  Seriously: “HE CAUGHT THE WAY HER VOICE SOFTENED AS SHE SPOKE ABOUT HER DAD STOP IT WAS OBVIOUS SHE LOVED THE MAN STOP QUOTE THAT WAS NICE OF HIM UNQUOTE STOP” (from randomly-selected page 239).

I did actually read the whole thing, mainly because I was curious about how the two main characters were going to wind up meeting, and then it had the avalanche-of-events appeal of an action movie, complete with witty banter and plot-based immortality.  Unfortunately it also has all the depth and subtlety of an action movie.

And this is a best-selling author with apparently over 50 novels published.  I have to wonder, are they all this rough, or is she just coasting at this point?

“SHE WANTED TO CRY FROM THE FIERCE EMOTIONS THAT SWELLED INSIDE HER STOP A PART OF HER WANTED TO DEVOUR HIM STOP ANOTHER PART JUST WANTED TO HOLD HIM UNTIL EVERYTHING WAS GOOD AGAIN STOP.”

Yeah, “STOP” sounds good.  Let’s just leave it at that, shall we?

1 Comment

  1. Paul (@princejvstin) said,

    I hate it when I try an author others have raved about (or is popular), and he or she doesn’t work for me for one reason or another. I really didn’t cotton to Robert Jordan, for example.

Leave a Reply

