Review: Nanny Ogg’s Cookbook

November 7, 2013 at 6:46 pm (fantasy, nonfiction - cooking)

Nanny Ogg's Cookbook
Nanny Ogg’s Cookbook by Terry Pratchett
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I received this book as a gift last year, and I understand it had to actually be shipped from Britain – apparently there is no market in the US for funny cookbooks based on fantasy-fiction characters. Besides me, that is.

Anyway, I read more than halfway through it last year and then misplaced it in a pile of other books, and only re-discovered it this week. Finishing it made a great way to procrastinate this afternoon.

You have to have at least read Terry Pratchett’s Discworld series to get the most out of this book since most of the references to the fictional world will make no sense at all if you haven’t. Really liking the series is probably a prerequisite too, because a lot (most?) of these recipes are not things one would normally make, except maybe for a Halloween party.

I haven’t tried any of the recipes myself, because the major ingredients (flour and so forth) are given in metric weight, and since I measure by volume I don’t have a kitchen scale.

Note that yes, it’s funny, but not really for kids. Though I think the scattered innuendo will go right over the heads of kids younger than 13.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

