Review: Limits of Power

November 8, 2013 at 11:34 am (fantasy)

Limits of Power
Limits of Power by Elizabeth Moon
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This is such a middle-of-the-series book that I hardly know what to say. A lot of important things happen, but very few conclusions are reached. Arvid Semmison, the character I’m most interested in finding out more about, seems to be marking time until his number comes up. Kieri keeps wandering further into the elven magic stuff but full understanding of what’s it all means stays just out of reach. Dorrin continues to work on fixing her duchy and on not being arrested, and her escaped family members still haven’t organized an attack. What are Dragon’s plans now that his progeny are taken care of? And Stammel!!!! I suspect Arcolin is closer to the important places and facts than everyone else, but he doesn’t know it yet.

In other words, I’d be much happier with this book if I already had the next volume in my hands so I could find out where it’s going immediately, rather than some time next year (hopefully).

Thing is, I still love this series, and my frustration is all about how it’s not getting to its conclusion fast enough. I’m enjoying the trip, but still.

Oh, and the other thing is the marketing for this book. The blurb and all makes it sound like the hostility to the sudden re-appearance of mage powers in random people is the main focus, but it just isn’t. It’s something that Arvid, Dorrin, and the Marshal-General spend time worrying about, but nothing truly major or conclusive happens with respect to it. That’s not the author’s fault, though, that’s just the marketing department trying to find something to say about it besides “The Story Continues!”

My recommendation is that if you’re not already addicted to the series, don’t start reading it until the whole thing is published.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

